Systemic Therapy Safety Committee

CAPCA’s Systemic Therapy Safety Committee was established in 2007 to  provide a pan-Canadian approach to improving patient safety in oncology systemic therapy by:

  • Providing advice to support system level change
  • Collaborating with stakeholders
  • Promoting best practice and highlighting areas of excellence in Canada’s provincially-based healthcare system.
  • Dissemination recommendations across CAPCA member organizations



  • Susan Walisser, Professional Practice Leader, BC Cancer Agency
  • Dr. Max Coppes, President, BC Cancer Agency
  • Roxanne Dobish, Pharmacy Manager, Alberta Health Services
  • Dr. Katia Tonkin, Senior Medical Oncologist, Cross Cancer Institute, Alberta Health Services
  • Scott Livingstone, Chief Executive Officer, Saskatchewan Cancer Agency
  • Kathy Gesy, Provincial Leader, Oncology Pharmacy Services, Saskatchewan Cancer Agency
  • Denise Budz, Provincial Leader, Systemic Therapy and Outpatient Services, Saskatchewan Cancer Agency
  • Venetia Bourrier, Director, Provincial Oncology Drug Program, CancerCare Manitoba
  • Amy Marriott, Patient Safety Liaison Pharmacist, CancerCare Manitoba
  • Esther Green, Provincial Head, Nursing and Psychosocial Oncology, Cancer Care Ontario
  • Melany Leonard, Nurse Manager, McGill University Health Centre, Quebec
  • Dr. Eshwar Kumar, Co-Chief Executive Officer, New Brunswick Cancer Network
  • Larry Broadfield, Manager, Systemic Therapy, Cancer Care Nova Scotia
  • Heather MacKenzie, PEI Cancer Treatment Centre
  • Liz Dobbin, PEI Cancer Treatment Centre
  • Roxanne Rodgers-Harding, Patient Care Coordinator, Eastern Health Cancer Care Program
  • Dr. Scott Edwards, Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, Eastern Health Cancer Care Program
  • Paula Greco, Accreditation Canada
  • Sylvia Hyland, Institute for Safe Medication Practices Canada
  • Dr. Tony Easty, Health Technology Safety Research Team, University Health Network
  • Rachel White, Human Factors Specialist, Health Technology Safety Research Team, University Health Network
  • Andrea Cassano-Piche, Human Factors Engineer, Health technology Safety Research Team, University Health Network.
  • Jennifer Jeon, Human Factors Analyst, Healthcare Human Factors Group, University Health Network